hardware/stick-preamp.git
4 years agodo not attenuate tuner output at all master
rekado [Sat, 18 Apr 2015 17:01:57 +0000 (19:01 +0200)] 
do not attenuate tuner output at all

4 years agoexplain how to keep schematics and board in sync
rekado [Fri, 10 Apr 2015 04:45:50 +0000 (06:45 +0200)] 
explain how to keep schematics and board in sync

4 years agoboard: place and connect C450
rekado [Fri, 10 Apr 2015 04:40:36 +0000 (06:40 +0200)] 
board: place and connect C450

4 years agoplace C450 on board, connected to external pin
rekado [Fri, 10 Apr 2015 04:19:01 +0000 (06:19 +0200)] 
place C450 on board, connected to external pin

C450 must be placed after pin CONN403 (BLEND) as it should be placed on
the board and is not part of the off-board assembly (unlike the dual
potentiometre mixing RETURN_HIGH and RETURN_LOW).

4 years agoboard: load updated netlist, remove pin
rekado [Sun, 5 Apr 2015 19:21:10 +0000 (21:21 +0200)] 
board: load updated netlist, remove pin

4 years agoconnect nets XOVER and PREAMP_2
rekado [Sun, 5 Apr 2015 19:20:05 +0000 (21:20 +0200)] 
connect nets XOVER and PREAMP_2

4 years agoboard.pcb: update to latest file format
rekado [Sun, 5 Apr 2015 19:06:06 +0000 (21:06 +0200)] 
board.pcb: update to latest file format

4 years agoremove superfluous pin
rekado [Sun, 5 Apr 2015 19:04:03 +0000 (21:04 +0200)] 
remove superfluous pin

4 years agoadd pin for preamp2 out / xover in
rekado [Sun, 5 Apr 2015 19:03:26 +0000 (21:03 +0200)] 
add pin for preamp2 out / xover in

4 years agoadd TODO
rekado [Sun, 1 Mar 2015 10:48:32 +0000 (11:48 +0100)] 
add TODO

4 years agoadd archive of old drafts
rekado [Sun, 1 Mar 2015 10:46:46 +0000 (11:46 +0100)] 
add archive of old drafts

4 years agoadd parts map
rekado [Sun, 1 Mar 2015 10:46:12 +0000 (11:46 +0100)] 
add parts map

4 years agoadd old enclosure drawings
rekado [Sun, 1 Mar 2015 10:41:49 +0000 (11:41 +0100)] 
add old enclosure drawings

5 years agoswap crossover output
rekado [Thu, 8 Aug 2013 08:21:56 +0000 (16:21 +0800)] 
swap crossover output

5 years agoadd indicator LED for crossover
rekado [Wed, 7 Aug 2013 11:48:27 +0000 (19:48 +0800)] 
add indicator LED for crossover

5 years agoadd output jacks
rekado [Mon, 5 Aug 2013 10:37:37 +0000 (18:37 +0800)] 
add output jacks

5 years agoadd missing coupling capacitor
rekado [Sun, 4 Aug 2013 14:12:07 +0000 (22:12 +0800)] 
add missing coupling capacitor

5 years agocolours and line thickness
rekado [Sun, 28 Jul 2013 02:33:00 +0000 (10:33 +0800)] 
colours and line thickness

5 years agoa few more fixes before production
rekado [Fri, 26 Jul 2013 14:29:57 +0000 (22:29 +0800)] 
a few more fixes before production

- power switch and connector on the same side
- add labels for clarification
- clean up help lines

5 years agoready for production?
rekado [Thu, 25 Jul 2013 03:41:35 +0000 (11:41 +0800)] 
ready for production?

6 years agotext: add on/off switch
rekado [Mon, 22 Jul 2013 23:55:22 +0000 (07:55 +0800)] 
text: add on/off switch

6 years agoboard holes to "holes" layer
rekado [Mon, 22 Jul 2013 23:43:46 +0000 (07:43 +0800)] 
board holes to "holes" layer

6 years agoadd status LED
rekado [Sat, 20 Jul 2013 14:56:10 +0000 (22:56 +0800)] 
add status LED

6 years agovarious changes
rekado [Sat, 20 Jul 2013 14:33:04 +0000 (22:33 +0800)] 
various changes

- position and spacing of jacks
- spacing of potentiometres
- more dimension annotations
- hole for DC jack

6 years agodrill pattern, first draft
rekado [Fri, 19 Jul 2013 13:53:39 +0000 (21:53 +0800)] 
drill pattern, first draft

6 years agodrawing of Hammond enclosure
rekado [Fri, 19 Jul 2013 13:53:02 +0000 (21:53 +0800)] 
drawing of Hammond enclosure

6 years agoupdate component names / silk screen
rekado [Thu, 24 Jan 2013 23:31:24 +0000 (07:31 +0800)] 
update component names / silk screen

6 years ago3 mounting holes: M2x0.4
rekado [Tue, 8 Jan 2013 14:24:55 +0000 (22:24 +0800)] 
3 mounting holes: M2x0.4

6 years agoincrease mount hole diameter
rekado [Wed, 2 Jan 2013 13:23:50 +0000 (21:23 +0800)] 
increase mount hole diameter

6 years agoreduce gain of melody preamp?
rekado [Wed, 2 Jan 2013 10:02:56 +0000 (18:02 +0800)] 
reduce gain of melody preamp?

6 years agomove cap away from drill hole
rekado [Wed, 2 Jan 2013 10:02:38 +0000 (18:02 +0800)] 
move cap away from drill hole

6 years agoremove out pins to -Vcc from board
rekado [Tue, 1 Jan 2013 11:26:19 +0000 (19:26 +0800)] 
remove out pins to -Vcc from board

6 years agoremove outdated comment
rekado [Tue, 1 Jan 2013 10:15:03 +0000 (18:15 +0800)] 
remove outdated comment

6 years agoincrease route to pin clearance
rekado [Mon, 31 Dec 2012 09:40:04 +0000 (17:40 +0800)] 
increase route to pin clearance

6 years agosimplify routing of melody return cap
rekado [Mon, 31 Dec 2012 09:35:38 +0000 (17:35 +0800)] 
simplify routing of melody return cap

6 years agoredesign
rekado [Sat, 29 Dec 2012 14:42:49 +0000 (22:42 +0800)] 
redesign

- less space between resistors
- removed trim pots
- removed one signal buffer
- routed Vcc through transistor pins (maybe change that later)

6 years agobypass contacts are wired on the switch, off-board
rekado [Sat, 29 Dec 2012 12:17:03 +0000 (20:17 +0800)] 
bypass contacts are wired on the switch, off-board

6 years agoremove melody buffer (preamp is buffered); remove trim pots
rekado [Sat, 29 Dec 2012 10:43:36 +0000 (18:43 +0800)] 
remove melody buffer (preamp is buffered); remove trim pots

6 years agocorrect name
rekado [Fri, 28 Dec 2012 12:28:36 +0000 (20:28 +0800)] 
correct name

6 years agoconnect only one of the jack switches
rekado [Fri, 28 Dec 2012 12:28:01 +0000 (20:28 +0800)] 
connect only one of the jack switches

6 years agoreduce gain/distortion
rekado [Thu, 27 Dec 2012 14:13:17 +0000 (22:13 +0800)] 
reduce gain/distortion

there still is some distortion which could possibly be eliminated by
increasing the resistor some more.

6 years agodon't roll off low frequencies in bass preamp
rekado [Thu, 27 Dec 2012 14:12:53 +0000 (22:12 +0800)] 
don't roll off low frequencies in bass preamp

6 years agopins to connect offboard blend pot
rekado [Thu, 27 Dec 2012 00:20:49 +0000 (08:20 +0800)] 
pins to connect offboard blend pot

6 years agoput inputs on -Vcc when nothing is connected
rekado [Thu, 27 Dec 2012 00:16:02 +0000 (08:16 +0800)] 
put inputs on -Vcc when nothing is connected

6 years agoimprove coupling at mixer
rekado [Wed, 26 Dec 2012 12:28:30 +0000 (20:28 +0800)] 
improve coupling at mixer

6 years agoadd coupling caps to return; remove from mixer
rekado [Wed, 26 Dec 2012 12:27:48 +0000 (20:27 +0800)] 
add coupling caps to return; remove from mixer

6 years agoupdate all coupling caps to 10uF
rekado [Wed, 26 Dec 2012 10:11:08 +0000 (18:11 +0800)] 
update all coupling caps to 10uF

this is to ensure that the voltage across the cap is low at all
frequencies we care about.

6 years agoclean up middle section
rekado [Wed, 26 Dec 2012 10:05:01 +0000 (18:05 +0800)] 
clean up middle section

6 years agoremove coupling caps
rekado [Wed, 26 Dec 2012 10:04:35 +0000 (18:04 +0800)] 
remove coupling caps

6 years agoconnect reference voltage via resistor; reduce cap value
rekado [Sun, 23 Dec 2012 07:25:37 +0000 (15:25 +0800)] 
connect reference voltage via resistor; reduce cap value

6 years agoreplace power filtering resistor with inductor
rekado [Sat, 1 Dec 2012 16:28:37 +0000 (00:28 +0800)] 
replace power filtering resistor with inductor

6 years agoreplace another JFET with NPN transistor
rekado [Mon, 26 Nov 2012 14:01:45 +0000 (22:01 +0800)] 
replace another JFET with NPN transistor

6 years agoreplace JFET with NPN transistor
rekado [Mon, 26 Nov 2012 13:57:30 +0000 (21:57 +0800)] 
replace JFET with NPN transistor

6 years agoplace and connect transistor in tuner mixer
rekado [Mon, 26 Nov 2012 10:54:17 +0000 (18:54 +0800)] 
place and connect transistor in tuner mixer

6 years agoadd NPN transistor to make mixer active
rekado [Mon, 26 Nov 2012 00:18:47 +0000 (08:18 +0800)] 
add NPN transistor to make mixer active

6 years agoadd transistor after bass blend pots
rekado [Fri, 23 Nov 2012 10:30:01 +0000 (18:30 +0800)] 
add transistor after bass blend pots

6 years agoupdate board to latest schematic changes
rekado [Fri, 23 Nov 2012 10:15:51 +0000 (18:15 +0800)] 
update board to latest schematic changes

6 years agoreminders to add buffers/active mixers
rekado [Fri, 23 Nov 2012 10:05:04 +0000 (18:05 +0800)] 
reminders to add buffers/active mixers

6 years agoadd shunt resistor to output
rekado [Fri, 23 Nov 2012 10:04:29 +0000 (18:04 +0800)] 
add shunt resistor to output

6 years agoupdate board
rekado [Thu, 22 Nov 2012 15:07:13 +0000 (23:07 +0800)] 
update board

6 years agoadd jumper to connect Vcc nets
rekado [Thu, 22 Nov 2012 15:07:03 +0000 (23:07 +0800)] 
add jumper to connect Vcc nets

6 years agomove power rails filtering to power supply
rekado [Thu, 22 Nov 2012 13:38:02 +0000 (21:38 +0800)] 
move power rails filtering to power supply

6 years agorename power connector to make it appear on PCB
rekado [Fri, 23 Nov 2012 02:32:43 +0000 (20:32 -0600)] 
rename power connector to make it appear on PCB

6 years agomore biasing with reference voltage
rekado [Thu, 22 Nov 2012 00:06:01 +0000 (08:06 +0800)] 
more biasing with reference voltage

6 years agoadjust value and size of support caps
rekado [Thu, 22 Nov 2012 00:04:32 +0000 (08:04 +0800)] 
adjust value and size of support caps

6 years agopower supply filtering
rekado [Thu, 22 Nov 2012 00:00:10 +0000 (08:00 +0800)] 
power supply filtering

6 years agouse this expensive voltage reference instead of a voltage divider
rekado [Wed, 21 Nov 2012 12:10:10 +0000 (20:10 +0800)] 
use this expensive voltage reference instead of a voltage divider

6 years agofirst complete layout draft
rekado [Tue, 20 Nov 2012 11:36:24 +0000 (19:36 +0800)] 
first complete layout draft

6 years agoremove DI box
rekado [Tue, 20 Nov 2012 09:53:41 +0000 (17:53 +0800)] 
remove DI box

I don't really need a DI box all the time. It complicates the circuit,
draws more power, and requires more space.

An external DI box can be connected to the mono output for the same
result.

6 years agoupdate board
rekado [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 14:57:37 +0000 (22:57 +0800)] 
update board

6 years agoupdate board
rekado [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 13:03:57 +0000 (21:03 +0800)] 
update board

6 years agoadd pin to bass blend pot
rekado [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 13:03:03 +0000 (21:03 +0800)] 
add pin to bass blend pot

6 years agoignore more files
rekado [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 10:46:03 +0000 (18:46 +0800)] 
ignore more files

6 years agoremove outdated notice
rekado [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 10:43:43 +0000 (18:43 +0800)] 
remove outdated notice

6 years agohide footprint attribute
rekado [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 10:41:32 +0000 (18:41 +0800)] 
hide footprint attribute

6 years agoadd virtual ground IC
rekado [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 10:32:27 +0000 (18:32 +0800)] 
add virtual ground IC

6 years agoreplace tuner trim pot with fixed resistor
rekado [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 00:15:48 +0000 (08:15 +0800)] 
replace tuner trim pot with fixed resistor

6 years agoset graphical=1 for off-board components
rekado [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 00:13:51 +0000 (08:13 +0800)] 
set graphical=1 for off-board components

6 years agoremove trim pot before DI box
rekado [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 00:12:12 +0000 (08:12 +0800)] 
remove trim pot before DI box

6 years agoadd connectors to output signals
rekado [Mon, 19 Nov 2012 00:02:23 +0000 (08:02 +0800)] 
add connectors to output signals

6 years agoupdate board
rekado [Sun, 18 Nov 2012 15:00:36 +0000 (23:00 +0800)] 
update board

6 years agochange switch footprint to generic connector
rekado [Sun, 18 Nov 2012 14:52:32 +0000 (22:52 +0800)] 
change switch footprint to generic connector

6 years agosimplify the crossover bypass
rekado [Sun, 18 Nov 2012 14:22:14 +0000 (22:22 +0800)] 
simplify the crossover bypass

6 years agoeffects inserts for bass channels
rekado [Sun, 18 Nov 2012 13:21:23 +0000 (21:21 +0800)] 
effects inserts for bass channels

6 years agoadd pins for bass effects insert
rekado [Sun, 18 Nov 2012 10:29:00 +0000 (18:29 +0800)] 
add pins for bass effects insert

6 years agoadd connector for inputs
rekado [Sun, 18 Nov 2012 09:58:04 +0000 (17:58 +0800)] 
add connector for inputs

6 years agoremove default footprint from stereo jack symbol
rekado [Sun, 18 Nov 2012 09:42:07 +0000 (17:42 +0800)] 
remove default footprint from stereo jack symbol

6 years agomerge preamp circuits
rekado [Sun, 18 Nov 2012 09:39:13 +0000 (17:39 +0800)] 
merge preamp circuits

6 years agoadd connector for tuner output and melody insert
rekado [Sun, 18 Nov 2012 08:21:32 +0000 (16:21 +0800)] 
add connector for tuner output and melody insert

6 years agosimplify melody send/return
rekado [Sun, 18 Nov 2012 08:08:46 +0000 (16:08 +0800)] 
simplify melody send/return

I no longer want to use two mono sockets for separate send and return
routing. A single stereo jack for effects insert is just as fine and
easier to implement. I also no longer care for an effects blend
potentiometer that determines how much of the unprocessed signal is to
be blended with the return signal. Controlling the effect intensity is
the external device's job.

6 years agocrossover routing
rekado [Sat, 17 Nov 2012 15:02:47 +0000 (23:02 +0800)] 
crossover routing

6 years agostart routing preamps
rekado [Sat, 17 Nov 2012 08:22:24 +0000 (16:22 +0800)] 
start routing preamps

6 years agoreduce board size
rekado [Sat, 17 Nov 2012 04:22:39 +0000 (12:22 +0800)] 
reduce board size

6 years agocorrect power supply of IC401
rekado [Sat, 17 Nov 2012 03:31:30 +0000 (11:31 +0800)] 
correct power supply of IC401

6 years agouse BOURNS 3296w footprint for trim pots
rekado [Sat, 17 Nov 2012 02:48:38 +0000 (10:48 +0800)] 
use BOURNS 3296w footprint for trim pots

The footprint was created with the bourns_3266-3296.pl perl script by
David Griffith using John C. Luciani Jr's footprint creation library.

6 years agoroughly align both preamp sections
rekado [Sat, 17 Nov 2012 02:26:13 +0000 (10:26 +0800)] 
roughly align both preamp sections

6 years agobegin PCB layout
rekado [Fri, 16 Nov 2012 15:06:13 +0000 (23:06 +0800)] 
begin PCB layout

6 years agorename nets to ensure they are separate
rekado [Fri, 16 Nov 2012 15:05:25 +0000 (23:05 +0800)] 
rename nets to ensure they are separate

6 years agoreplace CK05 cap footprint with ACY100
rekado [Fri, 16 Nov 2012 14:28:54 +0000 (22:28 +0800)] 
replace CK05 cap footprint with ACY100

6 years agoRCY300P --> RCY150P for 100uF caps
rekado [Fri, 16 Nov 2012 14:24:27 +0000 (22:24 +0800)] 
RCY300P --> RCY150P for 100uF caps